Sharpe Laboratory



Home > People > Arlene Sharpe

Arlene Sharpe

Kolokotrones University Professor Chair, Department of Immunology Vice Director, Gene Lay Institute



- Harvard Medical School77 Avenue Louis Pasteur, NRB 837Boston, MA 02115
- arlene_sharpe@hms.harvard.edu

Arlene Sharpe, MD, PhD is the Kolokotrones University Professor at Harvard University and Chair of the Department of Immunology at Harvard Medical School. She is a Member of the Department of Pathology at Brigham and Women's Hospital and the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Leader of the Cancer Immunology Program at Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center, and Vice Director of the Gene Lay Institute of Immunology and Inflammation at Brigham and Women's Hospital, Massachusetts General Hospital, and Harvard Medical School.

Dr. Sharpe earned her MD and PhD from Harvard Medical School and completed her residency in Pathology at Brigham and Women's Hospital. A leader in T cell costimulation, her laboratory discovered and elucidated functions of T cell costimulatory pathways, including immunoinhibitory functions of the CTLA-4

and PD-1 pathways, which laid the foundation for immune checkpoint blockade therapy in cancer. Today her laboratory investigates the roles of T cell costimulatory pathways in regulating T cell tolerance, antimicrobial and antitumor immunity, and translating this understanding into therapies for autoimmune diseases and cancer.

Dr. Sharpe has published over 400 papers and was listed by Thomson Reuters/Clarivate as one of the most Highly Cited Researchers (top 1%) in 2014-2023 and a 2016 Citation Laureate. She received the 2014 William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Basic and Tumor Immunology, the 2017 Warren Alpert Foundation Prize, the 2020 SITC Smalley Award, and the 2023 Switzer Prize. In 2022, she received the FASEB Excellence in Science Lifetime Achievement Award, AAI Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Rous-Whipple Award from the American Society for Investigative Pathology. Dr. Sharpe received the 2024 Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine. She is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Medicine, and American Academy of Arts and Sciences as well as a Fellow of the American Association for Cancer Research, National Academy of Inventors, the Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer, and the American Association of Immunologists.

People

<u>Current members</u>

Principal investigator



- Department of Immunology | Blavatnik Institute | Harvard Medical School
 77 Avenue Louis Pasteur, NRB 837
 Boston, MA 02115
- <u>(617) 432-6569</u>
- sharpe_lab@hms.harvard.edu

Admin login



Copyright © 2025 The President and Fellows of Harvard College

Accessibility

Digital Accessibility

Report Copyright Infringement

Info Practices